“There is no reason to suppose that the world had a beginning at all. The idea that things must have a beginning is really due to the poverty of our thoughts.” – Bertrand Russell

With the New Year fast-approaching we often think of beginnings and endings: things we might want to start doing, or finish doing.  The problem with this way of thinking is that we ignore something important: we are always changing, and continuing to change – regardless of the time of year.

Every moment we live is a new beginning and ending of sorts: even the very cells from which we are made are both created, and die countless times within a single day.  This is both an easy and a difficult reality to face: we try our best to let go of the past, for we must, and to accept change within ourselves and our lives as time, inevitably, marches by.

We don’t start a journey when we are already part-way through. We can’t go back to the beginning and change our route with the benefit of hindsight, or with better equipment. Instead, we must acknowledge where we’ve been, where we stumbled on the path (for we all stumble), and try to use this knowledge to better navigate the path ahead.

For me, this is what New Year means: a time to reflect on the past, and to continue this journey in the best way that I can. That’s why my New Year’s resolutions contain a journey or two that I hope to undertake:

  1. To walk the Camino de Santiago: from Le Puy (France) to Santiago de Compostela (Spain) in April 2015.
  2. To meditate more regularly and be more mindful.
  3. To appreciate those around me.

This blog will be my record of all of these, and I look forward to filling it with photographs, insights and stories.  I’ll also be telling you about books I’m reading, and food that I’m cooking as I enjoy both of these things very much.

What are your resolutions for 2015? I’d love to know, so do feel free to comment in the box below!

Bonne continuation,

Hannah

